Birth Control

I love you, I swear I do
an ode to all the stranded eggs
living in purgatory for my sins
a wise man (yes a man) once said
that a woman’s body remained
incomplete
with a neglected mind
women hear the voice and tuck it away for safekeeping
until the invaders arrive.

how many more
will rise
from still waters before what unravels
cannot be put back together
the world screaming for us to plant new seeds carefully
those thrown frivolously are lost to the wind
the ones I grew
stand tall
penchant in disregard for this absurdity
this world and its flowering stares
understanding confusion, how humorous
a compensation for the forgotten destinies
that would have meant my death.

6 thoughts on “Birth Control

Leave a Reply

