The Last Generation to Remember

What do you spend your mind on these days
the value of time is the race to knowledge not understanding
I recall a silent world at least certain periods of contemplative silence
I remember the freedom of knowing my body in relation to the Earth
the six directions of self teetering above, below, in front of, behind
side by side realistic expectations
I even remember the horizon its direct line and its indirect story
the promise of surprises, the human acceptance of doubt as acceptable to being.
I imagined growing out of this Earth with the sun of my own mind
layers of thought unveiled by voices and books quiet, quiet contemplation
music not madness.
If I am left to become young on my own
I will be the last one to remember (this I fear)
the combination of eyes and words and patience and kisses
and to think naively it could happen again even better the next time around.

About Kate Houck

Educator. Human. Poet. Seeking truth through experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Last Generation to Remember

  1. I’m just reading this over and over. My favorite lines:

    I imagined growing out of this Earth with the sun of my own mind
    layers of thought unveiled by voices and books quiet, quiet contemplation
    music not madness.

    and the last two.

  2. sheldonk2014 says:

    So many powerful images
    Great read Kate
    As always Sheldon

  3. inesephoto says:

    Powerful and beautiful. Always a delight to read your poetry.

Leave a Reply

