A Temporary Farewell

I am on my way abroad tomorrow to a country that has a permanent place in my heart, a country that is experiencing a very turbulent time right now. I am thinking now of what we all long for, simple dreams that seem so hard to bring to life.

Prayers said with my breath for peaceful days ahead. Let us never lose hope in the human capacity for justice and reconciliation. Our energy belongs to that struggle.

I chose this Turkish poem because of its universal appeal. I feel so many of us can relate to what this author wants for his country.

I Want a Country

I want a country
Let the sky be blue, the bough green, the cornfield yellow
Let it be a land of birds and flowers

I want a country
Let there be no pain in the head, no yearning in the heart
Let there be an end to brothers’ quarrels

I want a country
Let there be no rich and poor, no you and me
On winter days let everyone have hose and home

I want a country
Let living be like loving from the heart
If there must be complaint, let it be of death

Cahit Sıtkı Tarancı
translated by Bernard Lewis

(I anticipate interrupted Internet access for the next few weeks but look forward to catching up upon my return. Love, Kate)

About Kate Houck

Educator. Human. Poet. Seeking truth through experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Temporary Farewell

  1. zdunno03 says:

    Safe journey and may you stay out of harm’s way.

  2. Safe travels Kate. I look forward to hearing more about your trip.

  3. Ron says:

    Dear Kate,
    We will miss you so much but you have not left us forever…and you HAVE left us……………….with a beautiful poem!

    May God bless you on your pilgrimage!

    Warmest rspect and admiration,

    Ron

  4. Safe and peaceful journey, Kate.

  5. Godspeed to you Kate.

  6. JC says:

    Be safe and make a difference in this temporary home and come back because we need your poetry… jc

  7. Stayne says:

    Thanks for sharing that poem and I hope that you are well 🙂

Leave a Reply

