Fuck Tarzan

I cannot be Jane anymore
because it is a lie about
what women cannot do
who can tell us not to birth a nation
or to defeat an animal, befriend the jungle
we have done it and more
who are the voices behind a revolution
who are the bodies harnessed to kill
without a weapon
I stand with my dreams on top of possibility
you stand with yours below the sword
you feed the mouths of your children with
stolen goods and broken hearts, we mend
your spoils of war
I will birth babies and revolution
I will cook and feed minds
I will fuck and remember war cries
that I turned into laughter
who owns fertile ground and keeps
testosterone alive on the shore
screaming for more,
woman, woman hear her roar
calling out only because she is herself.

About Kate Houck

Educator. Human. Poet. Seeking truth through experience.
This entry was posted in Woman and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Fuck Tarzan

  1. Ron says:

    “FUCK TARZAN”!!!

    HAHAHAHAHA!!!! I love it…and a magnificent and compelling work of poetry as well! Nicely done, Kate!

  2. JC says:

    I’ve never liked Tarzan. Thanks for reminding me why…

  3. sheldonk2014 says:

    All I can say is WOW

  4. 5h2o says:

    This gave me a big smile. Great job!

  5. borncarmona says:

    Daaaammmmmn!!!!!!! ROOOOOARRRRR! Thank you!

  6. I love the power and truth of this poem, Kate.

  7. sanberdooboy says:

    i love the righteous anger. i find myself embarrassed often about how clueless men can be (including me). “I will fuck and remember war cries/ that I turned into laughter” is wonderful. after watching the republican convention last night and then reading your poem this morning, i realize how healing your poem is — balm for the injuries inflicted by violent, hateful, ignorant words.

    • Kate Houck says:

      Michael, based on our wordpress interaction up to this point, you seem to be one of the least clueless out there πŸ™‚ Thank you for being an open-minded “man” with a great sense of humor. I find your words consistently healing, thoughtful and constructive. Have a wonderful day….

  8. Stayne says:

    I love love love reading your words and hope our paths cross one day πŸ™‚

    “I will birth babies and revolution
    I will cook and feed minds
    I will fuck and remember war cries
    that I turned into laughter”

    Such power and conviction! You make me feel, thank you!

Leave a Reply

