I am guilty.

I am guilty of forgetting your name
and my place behind you
calling you with echoed sounds
the animals deserve to sit for
replicating myself into a dozen voices
seductive complacent—
they hatch into different creatures with wings
so many hidden beauties in a single smile.

I am guilty of not knowing how to feel the time
the devil will take me at a loss, a laughter
catch innocence, it swims backwards in past lives—
the current is not subtle when I flood the journey.

I am guilty of being saved to not love the savior
undressed down to the heart of it
captured to return naked
unscathed, unaware of what breaks the day into pieces.

The search has no reason to accept a closed book
look at hope in the distance burning opened pages
they call it the sun, I call it fire
my immortal, unspoiled truth.

About Kate Houck

Educator. Human. Poet. Seeking truth through experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I am guilty.

  1. AB says:

    guilt is unforgiving, never forgotten, and perhaps innate truth
    to our daily existence, intermittent mutation occurs in the form of exuberance
    happiness, sadness, envy and downright insistence
    that you, I, us, all have meaning, beyond mundane,
    insane, routine of this breathing, eating, defeating
    pulse, impulse to be reckless in the face of truth,
    birds chirping then mating, of sun setting, for the one last time

  2. Poetpas says:

    Good one!

  3. sanberdooboy says:

    lots of strong images here. starting the first three stanzas with “I am guilty” helps to unify the poem, which is admirable for its honesty. the last two lines provide a powerful closing. –michael

  4. sheldonk2014 says:

    I love this one Kate
    Thank you for visiting
    As always Sheldon

Leave a Reply

