Giving Birth

Some town remembers your footsteps
the mothers remember your tall, lanky
body reaching the heights of their windows
and I remember only what you tell me of
a world I will never understand.

I have breathed life into myself through
our progeny. Their eyes remind me that
two different worlds can create life and
everything in between that takes us from ourselves
and makes us better.

Look at them come to life before the sky,
a life different than what both of us knew in turmoil
of changing colors. We want different things,
I know that, youโ€”the reflective faith and steadfast
discipline, meโ€”the shining light and the projected
voice. Both of us, though, we want them, donโ€™t we?
the culmination
the possibility of opposites thriving on the same plane.

It can be, today or tomorrow.
I think love can be louder than words.

About Kate Houck

Educator. Human. Poet. Seeking truth through experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Giving Birth

  1. niqniqbanks says:

    love it an this is all the way true

  2. Beautiful poem and reflection on the dance of relationship.

  3. sanberdooboy says:

    it’s a lovely poem about the experience of being a parent. your line “Both of us, though, we want them, donโ€™t we?” is so honest, so powerful. and as a grandparent, i have to say that the experience for me is still complicated and wonderful.

    • Kate Houck says:

      Family and the dynamics that go back and forth in the relationships is complicated. If we can endure the challenges with patience, there are a lot of wonderful times to be had.

      Thank you for the thoughtful comment!

  4. JC says:

    A wonderful poem, embracing the art of relationships.

  5. 5h2o says:

    I like this a lot. The opening image is very evocative and also just somehow ordinary. And then it just drives steady to the soulful end. So nice.

    • Kate Houck says:

      “Steady to the soulful end” is exactly what I wanted to hear ๐Ÿ™‚ Your perspective has such insight (as usual). It makes me see things I could not even see in my own writing. Thank you for your continued support and creative feedback.

  6. Diwata says:

    The last line says it all and I could only agree :). Loved this ๐Ÿ’•

  7. inesephoto says:

    Isn’t it amazing that different people can create a life! Love is louder than words, so true ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

