Honesty

I come here when I need somewhere to turn.
It seems no matter what, there is no lesson I’ve learned.
I drown in abstract thought to escape the realities of life
but the reality is, there is nowhere left to hide.
I play music with my soul because I cannot listen to myself:
Hear the words of my heart. They are out on the shelf.
I gave this space to the world, my thoughts to read;
I guess I’m desperately hoping someone will listen to me.
I am a human on a journey and I keep turning back to find
that all I’m trying to gain is what I left behind.
There are stepping stones that lead us to the adults we become.
To acknowledge their blessings is to recognize where we come from.
When we are drowning in questions, seek and ye shall find—
the answers are never clear, only the open mind.

18 thoughts on “Honesty

  1. my favorite line: “I play music with my soul because I cannot listen to myself” is such a lovely metaphor, but it gave me a jolt: i recognized myself in those words.

Leave a Reply

