Conversations with God

What exists in the space of sleep—
the permanent return to an eternal dream.
There is love here,
when no questions remain.
There is light here, upon which
every soul understands its purpose.
There is me here, struggling with silence
and a discontented heart.

What is left to embrace
when we enter every eye
and find empty spaces.
Acquaintances in passage,
transient connection only in a furtive glance.

Where will we be when nothing satisfies restless need,
but an instant savior,
a tangible item for the trophy of memories.
Who will we be when the loner
seeks the comfort of humankind
and becomes lost                   naked in the air.

What is our destiny when the mind stops listening to itself?

About Kate Houck

Educator. Human. Poet. Seeking truth through experience.
This entry was posted in poems, poetry, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Conversations with God

  1. omega says:

    I found the Universe singing inside of me when my mind finally stopped listening to itself.

    • Kate Houck says:

      I do think it’s a possibility. Though a very high spiritual state. Thank you for commenting and sharing your experience. Much love, Kate

      • omega says:

        Yes, it is about vibrations. As the polarity aligns with the natural vibrations, we can’t help but vibrate and sing together. Beautiful and perfect for me.

  2. Wow! I’d like these answered too!

  3. Heaving musings Kate! Have you been peeking into my mind:)

  4. jacobemet says:

    Provoking

  5. JC says:

    It is said that the universe seeks to know itself through our senses. In that case with our head in constant motion, the universe may be very confused. But if we live a life where the negative energy turns to positive energy and that feeds the universe, a constant mindfulness mind endeavor is possible.I’ve been doing this for years, I don’t always succeed, but I do know I feel better when I am positive and feel like I’m helping the Universe by being in a positive state of mind.

    • Kate Houck says:

      Thank you for sharing. It is a great example to follow and I believe that positive energy spreads, without a doubt, to people and all that is within our universe. I try to project positive energy when with others and for the sake of developing worthwhile relationships. Though when I am alone with myself, I can’t help but dwell on the troubling aspects of the world. Writing really helps me work those things out.

  6. Mirja says:

    A beautiful poem struggling with life’s questions. You write “Where will we be when nothing satisfies restless need,
    but an instant savior,
    a tangible item for the trophy of memories.
    Who will we be when the loner
    seeks the comfort of humankind
    and becomes lost naked in the air.

    What is our destiny when the mind stops listening to itself?”

    Start there, when the mind stops having the control. Listen to the song
    of your heart, nature, birds, the wind. Let that fill you until you smile.
    All the best.
    Mirja

    • Kate Houck says:

      So kind of you to read and thank you for the thoughtful words. Strangely enough, I think it is important for us to listen to our minds and let ourselves become discontent sometimes. Seeing the vacancies we need to fill helps inspire us to make changes within ourselves and for others. It’s a delicate balance though…between the positive and negative poles. You can become disillusioned when too deep under one or the other.

      Thank you for your inspiration. Much love, Kate

  7. reocochran says:

    Thank you for liking my posts well enough to connect with my blog. I like how you ask rather than tell, seek and allow answers unfold. I believe we all need to lean on each other and God will reveal our plan. Hoping our paths will join in working on solutions. Bless you, Kate. Smiles, Robin

    • Kate Houck says:

      Those are very poignant words. I appreciate that you, too, believe in letting the answers unfold to discover deeper understandings. It helps to have each other as reminders to practice patience and humility when life is not clear. I feel blessed that we have connected, Robin. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

