Monogamy

This is a poem of guilt.
This is the death of pride.
This is where the wind stops whistling
and the only thing I have is silence.

This is no escape. This is where the soul is buck naked.
This is where I am wrong. This is where I am better than my blood.
This is my hunger. This is my choice.
My road to a better place. My head, praise this depth.
My privilege, no more. Eaten and digested. A clean slate.

This is my body in different positions. My heat, my desire,
stepping backwards and making better choices.
Exploring intimacy. Harnessing control. Imprisoning stress.
Open these cages of self-doubt and tremble forward towards the sky.
This is my life. Live in the clouds for at least one known moment.

These are my legs crossed. My steeple lifted.
These are the songs of something new. The families of
obvious principle crying out for help.
Stand tall               for these are our hearts and oh what they can achieve.

You and your ghosts may eat my body some nights.
But dear God, leave my heart.
And I promise I will let you live another day.

About Kate Houck

Educator. Human. Poet. Seeking truth through experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Monogamy

  1. globalunison says:

    This was lovely. Very well written and very well expressed — I loved the last few lines Kate! ❤

    -Naima

  2. robert okaji says:

    Strong, Kate. Very strong. “This is where the wind stops whistling…” Oh, yes!

  3. NbJ says:

    Wonderful. Truly enjoyed this offering

  4. I agree it’s strong, Kate. Powerful self-awareness.

    “My privilege, no more. Eaten and digested. A clean slate.”
    That passive voice works beautifully here.

  5. Tom Schultz says:

    Often the strongest expressions involve the simplest language and syntax. It seems to me that is what you have achieved here. Reminds me of something Lincoln wrote, Be sure you put your feet in the right place, then stand firm.

    • Kate Houck says:

      What a special connection you made with Lincoln’s words. Thank you, Tom. I was definitely trying to project some strong feelings as a means to gain strength 🙂 I’m glad you saw that. Have a wonderful week!

      • Tom Schultz says:

        And I’m glad my response was helpful to you. Lincoln often works for me on an emotional level, since he was a man who felt deeply and wasn’t afraid to express his feelings profoundly.

      • Kate Houck says:

        I also relate to those qualities really well and look for that in who I read and listen to. Thanks again, Tom.

  6. amoafowaa says:

    Wow! Different emotions locked in a poem.

  7. sheldonk2014 says:

    Great piece, powerful images
    The quest is always a lonely walk on roads of uncertainty
    But those who know their heart are the ones who find their way
    As always Sheldon

Leave a Reply

