Icicles

I want us to melt. I want to fall upon you.
I want to know life and the Earth in jubilant color.

What comes again with a grain of salt. I will not take it.
What comes upon understanding mountains. It cannot be.
Not now. Open the door and all I see is white. I
whine with the wind and scurry mischief out the door.
I sparkle crystal in words, puddle memories next to you.
You are it, the ones, the only remnants of beauty.
Glance mischief above the pines.
Dance each other, shameless irony,
those seductive flashes of light.
Why is all wisdom lost above our heads?

One day it will happen.
I am melting slowly and so are you.
All moment and once again join the rain.

About Kate Houck

Educator. Human. Poet. Seeking truth through experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Icicles

  1. I like how you play with the melting of spirits here – nicely done!

  2. globalunison says:

    This is so beautiful! I enjoyed it so much, Kate!

    -Naima

  3. Great line, “I want us to melt.” Really opens the poem in multiple directions. The frustration of longing for spring / renewal in season and love is clear and beautifully expressed.

  4. Geo Sans says:

    endlessly moving
    ~
    transitional states

  5. Kate, this is awesome. You were able to connect human existence, the cycle of life and rebirth and nature. Your language in doing so, echoes the gentle rhythm of life as well. This is really good ecopoetry.

Leave a Reply

