Answer Unknown

What do I tell them?
All of these children.
They ask.
Why do I love amongst this pleasure?
My road is paved with the same dense tar.
My table is set for breakfast in bed.
And the door opens at my voice.
It closes with my eyes.

They will ask me, I think.                 
All of these children.
When they cannot feel.
When they, the cars made of same color,
On road that no longer turns.

And me, myself?
What do I ask myself on that day?
When the path is empty.
And the finish line ends with a cliff.
Steep. I will tell them.
This is the truth.
We are all ignorant of what is below.

About Kate Houck

Educator. Human. Poet. Seeking truth through experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Answer Unknown

  1. That was deep. And if I’m being honest (I am), I’m not sure I got it all- feel free to expand should u so desire. But it was really good!

  2. katehouck3 says:

    Hi! Thank you! Basically, I was thinking about the impact technology will have on the younger generation and how it is changing who we are as human beings, even how it has changed me. Concluding with the reality that we don’t really know what the future will hold.

Leave a Reply

