The Stories Children Tell

I am
I was
I always will be
the youngest
of five children
my mother
worked
everyday
in the fields
in Vietnam
she couldn’t take care of me
my grandmother took care of me
in Guatemala
the car wash company
took them
with two numbers
my mother
missed me
so I crossed the desert
my aunt crossed with us
to the refugee camp
in Kenya
we were alone
after the demons
killed my uncle and my father
in the village
my grandmother
treated me like a princess
she told me
I would find a castle
in America.

About Kate Houck

Educator. Human. Poet. Seeking truth through experience.
This entry was posted in education and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

